1. Carers Grants

Posted by WAODOH at Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:47 am

Hi - I'm working with a carer trying to raise funding for a holiday for her and her husband. I've managed to arrange the £1000 per year grant available in Surrey and am aware of the £500 GP carers payment.

Does anyone know of any charitable organisations which offer grants to carers, or of any other funding streams.

As a professional some stories of how carers grants have helped (or hindered) you in the past would be nice too.

2. Re: Carers Grants

Posted by CrystalBlueWolf at Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:20 pm

I've never been able to get a respite grant and i've been doing this for 2 years so far, and over a year when i was a young carer. If i want respite i have to arrange and pay for it myself

3. Re: Carers Grants

Posted by WAODOH at Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:24 pm

I'm sorry to hear that. Who have you approached in the past to try and get a grant? Can you recall the reasons why you were turned down?

4. Re: Carers Grants

Posted by Kat_C at Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:36 pm

i got a health grant before christmas to get away. thats was through my carers centre

5. Re: Carers Grants

Posted by swissmiss at Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:09 pm

What does WAODOH stand for?? Do you charge for your service? Are you self-employed??? ...lots of questions ! :-)

6. Re: Carers Grants

Posted by hal at Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:20 pm

Sadly

I think that something like this maybe available to people but they probably have no idea how to go about getting them. Would we go down the road of say discussing it with our doctors or is there a special body in place that you contact.