1. I have reached rock bottom and need help

Posted by Serendipity at Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:07 pm

Hi, I am new to this too, but I have found myself in a situation where I dont know what to do! So here it goes - after a very awful and traumatic childhood (induced by my father) I have over the past 6 years been taking food supplies to my Dad on a weekly basis as he is unable to do this for himself. This is split between my Mom and I (they divorced 30 years ago) and is an hour travelling plus the time spent with him. My Dad after we left filled every room in the house from floor to ceiling with rubbish and useless items. My Mom and I have been over to clear his house on several occasions to restore it to a habitable condition. However, he has continued to re-fill everywhere and it has been so demoralising to see this happen again. Before he was unwell he was a Jekyll and Hyde character and we have always trodden on egg shells.
    His health has really deteriated and he has always refused to answer to door, had his gas supply removed years ago so that no one goes into the house, he lives like a hermit and the only people that see him are my Mom or me on a weekly basis. He was a very well kept man until about 3 years ago and now is very frail, has lost half his body weight, has chronic emphysema and also now frequent memory loss. He is a very intelligent man and still has the ability to frighten us; but can also be nice on other occasions too.